REGULAR BOARD MEETING September 16, 2013 (Unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 16, 2013 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Kathy Ouren, Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Sheila Flatau, Steph Winjum, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Sheryl Anderson, Heidi Isaman, Renae Strand, Molly Haugrud, Dana Syverson, Bridgette Holl, Norma Martin, Sheri O'Brien, Jake Richter, Sean Fitzsimmons, Mandy Tollerud, Angie Westby, Kayls Miltich, Pam Bruhn, Jessica Sjostrom, Kim Haugrud, Daren Tollefson, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Mitch Monson moved to approve the agenda with the following changes:

Move the tour of PRHS to follow the informal discussions

Consent agenda

Personnel-Hire Jonathan Fankhanel as an Interventionist teacher for 2013-14 Business items

- A. Approve the application for Deb Wanek to attend the National Service Co-op convention in Dallas in December.
- B. Discuss staffing at the elementary school

Take off approve the Systems Accountability Report

Add Systems Accountability Report to informal discussion

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Several elementary staff members addressed the board regarding staffing and class sizes at the elementary school.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular meeting on August 19, 2013

Approve payment of the August 31 and September bills as presented

Accept donations - Brenda & Aubrey Ebanks – telescope for science dept Carol Treinen/Wells Fargo Foundation matching gifts \$26 Target – High school donation - \$472.30 Hurley Watson, Jr. – Canon Pixma Pro900 Mark 11 Color printer to the Industrial Tech Dept. - \$499 Farmers Elevator to FFA - \$250 Land O'Lakes Foundation to FFA - \$250 PR Pool Hall-Stuff the Bus - \$100 VFW-Stuff the Bus - \$500

Set the price for a student reduced breakfast to no charge. Meal prices were approved at the July meeting and are being corrected according to state mandates.

Personnel:

Hire Jonathan Fankhanel as an Interventionist teacher for 2013-14 Hire Carole Skalsky for one hour per day elementary music instruction for 2013-14

Hire Porfirio Diaz, Emily Dillon and Jonathan Fankhanel as Co-SADD advisors for the 2013-14 school year

Approve Sheila Flatau as LEA representative for Title and School Improvement Plan The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2012-13 audit report as presented by Matt DeFoe from EideBailly. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to set the certified substitute teacher daily rate at \$105 per day for 2013-14. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the election judges for the November 5th election.

Julie Lammers – Head Judge – Nursing home voting Annie Wrigg Kathy Torkildson Merilee Ottoson Susan Strand – Nursing home voting Mary Bongers Audrey Sjostrom JoAnn Frazier Peter Preston Julie Ann Holt Jane Knorr Elaine Johnson Sheila Ouren One more judge to be named

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to certify the proposed levy for the tax year 2014-15 at the maximum amount. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the Assurance of Compliance with State and Federal Law Prohibiting Discrimination. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to table the approval of school trips until the October board meeting. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Mitch Monson moved to approve the fundraisers for the 2013-14 school year as presented. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the application for Deb Wanek to attend the National Service Co-op convention at no cost to the school district. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the hiring of an additional first grade teacher for the school year. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved that the meeting be recessed for a tour of the high school facility. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

The meeting was reconvened and then closed to discuss Superintendent Wanek's evaluation.

The meeting was adjourned.

Kathy Ouren, Chair

Charlie Blixt, Clerk