## REGULAR BOARD MEETING October 19, 2010 (Unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on October 19, 2010 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Don Perrin, Jon Karger, Dena Johnson, Kathy Ouren, Mitch Monson. Board members absent: Charlie Blixt. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Kathy Bergren, Stephanie Graham, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Brian Korf, Sheila Flatau, Lou Hoglund, Rita Hayek, Justine Ostlie, Brian Stavenger.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Vice Chair Kathy Ouren.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda with the following changes:

Add: Approve Sheila Flatau as LEA representative

Approve the use of the Individual Procurement Cards

Move: High School Principal/Activities Director report before Consent Agenda The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Brian Korf presented his principal/activities director report.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular meeting on September 21, 2010
Approve payment of the September 30<sup>th</sup> and October bills as presented
Approve the TRA part-time teacher program for Carol Boole for 7/1/10-6/30/15
Approve donations:

From Cormorant Area Art Club to the elem. art program - \$500 From Lyle Bring to the Ind. Tech. Dept. – Plans, books, materials and equipment for building canoes

Approve transportation agreement with Kirby and Jean Kugler Approve the student teaching agreement with MSU-Moorhead The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Don Perrin moved to accept the 2009-10 audit report as presented. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the Community Education report for 1009-10 as presented. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve the use of Pay School, an on-line payment program. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Member Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

## RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF INDIVIDUAL PROCUREMENT CARDS

Full resolution available upon request.

The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor:

Don Perrin, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson

and the following voted against the same:

None

whereupon the resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Dena Johnson moved to set a special meeting for November 9, 2010 at 6:30 p.m. to canvass the election results with a work session to follow the special meeting. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the Assurance of Compliance with State & Federal Law Prohibiting Discrimination. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve the hourly substitute rate for teachers of \$15.00. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Kathy Ouren introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION NOMINATING JON KARGER AS A LAKES COUNTRY SERVICE COOPERATIVE BOARD REPRESENTATIVE

Be it hereby resolved that:

The Board of Independent School District No. 548 nominates Jon Karger to serve as a board of directors nominee of the Lakes Country Service Cooperative and authorizes this individual's name to be placed on the ballot to be submitted to LCSC voting members. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson. Members voting in favor of this nomination are:

Don Perrin, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Mitch Monson

Abstaining from the vote was Jon Karger

The resolution was passed.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the District and School AYP Improvement plans. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve Sheila Flatau seconded by Jon Karger and carried.	as our district LEA Representative. The motion was
Sheila Flatau presented her Elementary Principal's Report.	
The meeting was adjourned.	
Don Perrin, Chairman	Jon Karger, Clerk