SPECIAL BOARD MEETING (Unapproved) November 9, 2010

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a special meeting on November 19, 2010 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Don Perrin, Jon Karger, Dena Johnson, Kathy Ouren, Mitch Monson. Board members absent: Charlie Blixt. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Lou Hoglund, Faye Engkjer.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Don Perrin.

Jon Moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 548, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 2, 2010, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 5,700 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of three school board members for four year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Charlie Blixt	1771
Dena Johnson	1762
Kathy Ouren	2009
Write-Ins	47

- 3. Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, and Kathy Ouren, having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2011.
- 4. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 5,700 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of one school board member for a two year term vacancy on the board caused by expiration of the appointment on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	0
Renato Molina	779
Mitch Monson	1615
Write-Ins	9

- 5. Mitch Monson having received the highest number of votes, is elected to a two year term beginning the first Monday in January, 2011.
- 6. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part. (Attach Abstract and Return of Votes Cast)

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Don Perrin, Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson And the following voted against: None Whereupon the resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

The special meeting was adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Don Perrin, Chairman

Jon Karger, Clerk

REGULAR BOARD MEETING (Unapproved) November 16, 2010

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on November 16, 2010 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Don Perrin, Jon Karger, Dena Johnson, Kathy Ouren, Mitch Monson, Charlie Blixt. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Stephanie Graham, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Brian Korf, Lou Hoglund, Wayne Woolever, Tessa Martinson.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Don Perrin.

Dena moved to approve the agenda with the following changes:

Add Ellie Nettestad's name as 1 on 1 para Add approve Robotics trip Discuss resolution book The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Tessa Martinson presented a report to the board about the Cultural Colloborative Program.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of regular meeting on October 19, 2010

Approve payment of the October 31st and November bills

Approve donation of \$200 to the science dept. from Mike Wichmann

Accept resignation of Azucena Escobar as 1 on 1 para

Hire Ellie Nettestad as 1 on 1 para

The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dean Johnson moved to approve the agreement with OtterTail-Wadena Community Action Council, Inc. for Head Start for 2010-11. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve the agreement with LSS for the School Based Mental Health Program. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the choir trip scheduled for March 27 to April 3, 2011. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the Robotics trip to the Regional Competition in Arkansas December 9-11, 2010. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Deb Wanek presented the elementary principal's report and Brian Korf presented his high school report.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:58 p.m.

Don Perrin, Chairman

Jon Karger, Clerk