OFFICIAL MINUTES HAYFIELD COMMUNITY SCHOOLS HAYFIELD, MINNESOTA 55940 REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 8, 2024

The regular meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 203, Hayfield, Minnesota was called to order by the Board Chair Patrick Towey Jr. at 5:33 PM, members present: Tyler Anderson, Kathy Hegna Zelinske, Curt Heydt, Justin Holtan, Chad O'Connor, and Heather Swygman and Patrick Towey Jr. Members absent: None. Also in attendance was Superintendent Gregg Slaathaug.

Public Forum: None.

Anderson moved, Swygman seconded to approve the agenda.

Approved 7-0

Administrators' Reports:

Jim Hecimovich, Interim 6-12 Principal:

• Update given on Motivational Speaker, Prom and Scholarship Nights, and Graduation.

Kayla Stanton, Business Manager:

· Update given on Curriculum, Teacher Appreciation Week, Testing, Summer Academy, and upcoming May events.

Scott Marine, Business Manager:

Report posted on school website.

Gregg Slaathaug, Superintendent:

• Updates given on: Negotiations with Educational Support Professionals, Preschool Enrollment for 2024-2025 is 36 Students, Spanish Trip to Costa Rica June 2024, Pepsi Wagon, purchase of City Softball Field, Capital Outlay and LTFM

ZED item: Activity Day will be in Hayfield on Friday, May 10, 2024. Graduation will be on Wednesday, May 29, 2024, at 4:00 PM.

Following review and discussion, Hegna Zelinske moved O'Connor seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Approved 7-0

Minutes from April 10, 2024, Board Meeting

Disbursements

April Payments: \$539,216.66 Gross Payroll: \$436,122.65

Enrollment

Resignation: Jodi Beckstrom, Fifth Grade Teacher, at the end of 2023-2024 school year.

Employment: Kendra Bjorge, Elementary First Grade Teacher, BA Step 3, at \$47,838 for the 2024-2025 school year

Lane Change: Danielle Masching, from BA, Step 13 at \$64,146 to BA+15, Step 14 \$69,834 effective 9/1/24

New Business

Holtan moved Swygman seconded to approve the Certified Personnel Staffing for 2024-2025 school year

Approved 7-0

Anderson moved Heydt seconded to approve the Capital Outlay Budget & Requests for 2024-2025 school year

Approved 7-0

O'Connor moved Anderson seconded to approve Chris Pack, Head Boys Basketball for the 2024-2025 season, Step 19, at \$8,250

Approved 7-0

Holtan moved O'Connor seconded to approve Kasey Krekling, Head Girls Basketball Coach for the 2024-2025 season, Step 13, at \$6,875

Approved 7-0

Swygman moved Hegna Zelinske seconded to approve Shane Masching, Head Wrestling Coach for the 2024-2025 season, Step 12, at \$6,875

Approved 7-0

Hegna Zelinske moved Heydt seconded to approve Gregg Slaathaug as coordinator for all federal programs, and LEA representative for the 2024-2025 school year.

Approved 7-0

O'Connor moved Anderson seconded to adjourn the meeting at 6:08 PM.

Approved 7-0

Respectfully submitted,

Chad O'Connor, Clerk