PARSHALL SCHOOL DISTRICT #3 Regular School Board Meeting

May 10, 2023

A Regular Meeting of the Parshall School Board was held on Wednesday, May 10th, 2023. The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Pres. Kathryn Onstad. Board members present were: Kathryn Onstad, Jacobi Jarski, Jay Clauson, Michelle Billadeau. Also present were Supt. Shane Sagert (by Zoom), Amber Cieslik, Tricia Wheeling, Connie Blatherwick.

A motion was made by Jay Clauson; seconded by Jacobi Jarski to approve the agenda with addition of the MHA Diabetes Program presentation. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Michelle Billadeau; seconded by Jacobi Jarski to approve the minutes of April 12th, 2023 and May 1st, 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Jay Clauson; seconded by Michelle Billadeau to approve the payment of the monthly bills. Motion carried unanimously.

Supt. Sagert reported on this year's budget and the recent Impact Aid payments. An update on next year's State Aid payment was given, indicating a 4% per pupil increase, but an overall decrease due to the district's lower student enrollment.

Amber Young Bird gave a High School Principal's report, including enrollment and attendance figures, Graduation ceremony (Jacobi Jarski will represent the Board), and the possibility of the Filipinos presenting a cultural song and dance.

Tricia Wheeling gave an Elementary Principal's report, with a Thank you for Staff Appreciation week. New hires are: Chelsea Humble (5th Grade) and Lesli Walters (1st Grade). Enrollment and attendance figures were given. Family Engagement night was discussed.

Committee Report: Housing – inspections are in the process of being scheduled. Policies – the Medical Marijuana policy (ACBF) was discussed and tabled.

A motion was made by Jacobi Jarski; seconded by Jay Clauson to approve the Indian Ed. Parental Input Policy (LBE). Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Jay Clauson; seconded by Michelle Billadeau to approve the agreement with the Western Dakota Corps of Discovery. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Jay Clauson; seconded by Michelle Billadeau to approve the resignations of Wendy Wohlk, cook, and Crystal Hayden, High School Counselor. Motion carried unanimously.

Sadie Young Bird joined the meeting by phone.

A motion was made by Sadie Young Bird; seconded by Jacobi Jarski to approve the following signed and returned teaching contracts for 2023-24: Kaitlyn Berwick, Marisa Bueno, Katrina Frank, Kayla Grosz, Donald Hamm, Erica McRae, and Robert McRae.

A reminder that the school board election is being held Tuesday, June 13 th , 2023.	
The next regular meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, June 14 th , 2023, 5:30 p.m. A special meeting will be held May 18 th , 4:15 p.m. to approve returned 2023-24 teaching contracts.	
A motion was made by Jay Clauson; seconded by Jacobi Jarski to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.	
Kathryn Onstad, President	Connie Blatherwick, Business Manager