REGULAR BOARD MEETING March 26, 2012 (unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on March 26, 2012 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Don Perrin, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Kathy Ouren, Charlie Blixt, Jon Karger. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Stephanie Winjum, Barb Ripley, Sheila Flatau, Brian Korf, Peter Scott, Connie Mackner, Trevor Steeves, Lou Hoglund, TJ Johnson, Cindi Strand, Kayls, Miltich, Sean Fitzsimmons.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Don Perrin.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda with the following addition:

Approve a motion to close the meeting after the Reports and Information items for the Superintendent's evaluation.

The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Trevor Steeves presented information about facilities.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve meeting minutes-Regular meeting – February 28, 2012 Approve payment of the February 29th and March bills as presented. Accept donations:

To ISD 548 Legionville School Safety Patrol-Knights of Columbus \$200

To ISD 548 Legionville School Safety Patrol-PR Jaycees \$200

To ISD 548 Legionville School Safety Patrol-American Legion \$225

To ISD 548 Legionville School Safety Patrol-American Legion Aux. \$225

To ISD 548 Wells Fargo/Joy Solum \$57.65

Personnel:

Approve leave for Teressa Schlieman as per Master Agreement The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to accept the resignation of Liz Tredennick as high school secretary effective June 8, 2012. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the resignation of Rita Hayek as high school English teacher effective following the 2011-12 school year. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the request for an extended leave of absence for Wayne Woolever beginning August 28, 2012 for a minimum of 3 years and up to five years and also approved that the school district will pay the district portion of the TRA for the period of August

28, 2012 to December 28, 2012. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt. After discussion Dena amended her motion and moved as follows:

To approve the request for an extended leave of absence for Wayne Woolever beginning August 28, 2012 for a minimum of 3 years and up to five years and also that the school district will pay the district portion of the TRA for the period of August 28, 2012 to December 28, 2012 with the understanding that in the future if a teacher reaches the Rule of 90 during the first semester of the school year and requests an extended leave of absence, the school district will consider paying the district portion of the TRA for that period of time. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2011-12 school calendar amendment to implement the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People/Teens that would make the last day of school for students May 18th and May 21-24 would be training days for all staff. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve the school calendar for the 2012-13 school year as presented. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve 868 as the ADM number to use for the 2012-13 budget. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Sheila Flatau and Brian Korf presented their principals' reports.

The meeting was adjourned

Kathy Ouren moved to close the meeting for the superintendent's evaluation. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

A closed meeting was held to review the superintendent's evaluation.

Don Perrin, Chairman	Jon Karger, Clerk