## REGULAR BOARD MEETING

June 19, 2012 (Unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on June 19, 2012 in the bandroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Don Perrin, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Charlie Blixt, Jon Karger. Board members absent: Kathy Ouren. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Stephanie Winjum, Barb Ripley, Sheila Flatau, Brian Korf, Renae Strand, Cary Haugrud and Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Don Perrin.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda with the following additions:

Consent items:

Personnel: Hire Elsie Peterson for the 2012-13 school year as a high school English

teacher

Hire Jacob Richter as 21st Century and Targeted Services Administrator

and Community Education

Reinstate Mandy Tollerud as ADSIS instructor

**Business items:** 

Approve the principal negotiations for 2011-13 as presented

Approve the Local Literacy Plan for Pelican Rapids School District 548

The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve meeting minutes-Regular meeting- May 15, 2012

Financial claims – Bills payable and wire transfers

Revenue and Expenditure Guidelines

Investment log

Accept donations:

To Pelican Rapids Memorial Scholarship – Bill Januszewski \$100 in memory of Judy Januszewski

To Pelican Rapids Memorial Scholarship – Kathy & Roger Bergren \$25 in memory of Judy Januszewski

To Pelican Rapids Memorial Scholarship – Kathy & Roger Bergren \$25 in memory of Sylvia Gohdes

To Paul Pfeifle Scholarship – Molly Rozum \$500

To Al Siegle Scholarship – Super Septic \$250

To Al Siegle Scholarship – Larry's \$100

To Al Siegle Scholarship – Dr. Donald Lundrigan \$50

To Al Siegle Scholarship – Lloyd Nelson \$200

To Al Siegle Scholarship – Long Weekend Sportswear \$150

To Viking Channel 2 – MN National Bank \$100

To Early Childhood - West Central Initiative \$10,000

To Viking Channel 2 – West Central Initiative \$2,000

To Ag Program-PRHS – Lakes Country Perkins Consortium \$1,490/Welding Helmets

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Hanna Meyer as elementary art teacher Accept the resignation of Doug Bruggeman as junior high football and junior high girls' basketball coach

Accept the resignation of Todd Kuhn as head baseball coach Accept the resignation of Angie Westby as junior high volleyball coach Accept the resignation of Ryan Syverson as assistant baseball coach

Hire Karli Kirkwood as elementary special education teacher

Hire John Gullingsrud as high school math teacher

Hire Rachel Haugrud as .5 ESL teacher, 1.75 hours per day ESL para and 1.5 hours supervision for the 2012-13 school year

Hire Elsie Peterson for the 2012-13 school year as a high school English teacher

Hire Jacob Richter as 21st Century and Targeted Services Administrator and Community Education

Reinstate Mandy Tollerud as an ADSIS teacher

Acknowledge the acceptance of the proposal from the Bimbo Bakeries USA for bread and bread products for the 2012-2013 school year with Lakes Country Service Cooperative.

Approve the agreement with Lakes Country Service Cooperative for Tessa Martinson as Cultural Collaborative Coordinator - \$51,570.23 Approve the agreements with Lakes Country Service Cooperative for ECFE,

Early Childhood, Caring Connections funded by Fund 4, OTFC -\$76,160.41 Approve the Cooperative Purchasing Agreement with Admin

Minnesota/Materials Management Division

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the final revision of the 2011-12 budget. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve the 2012-13 preliminary budget as presented by Steph Winjum. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve Overland Insurance as the vendor for the district property insurance for three years. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson with Charlie Blixt abstaining.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 4 day school week annual evaluation as presented. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to direct Superintendent Wanek to begin the 4 day school week application process for a 3 year period beginning in 2013. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried with Jon Karger voting against.

Member Don Perrin introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING AND AWARDING SALE OF
GENERAL OBLIGATION AID ANTICIPATION
CERTIFICATES OF INDEBTEDNESS, SERIES 2012A AND FIXING FORM
AND TERMS THEREOF IN CONNECTION WITH THE
MINNESOTA TAX AND AID ANTICIPATION BORROWING PROGRAM
SPONSORED BY THE MINNESOTA SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION AND
GREATER MINNESOTA SERVICE COOPERATIVES

Full resolution is available in the district office upon request.

The motion for the adopted of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Member Dena Johnson and upon vote being taken thereon the following voted in favor thereof:

Perrin, Karger, Blixt, Johnson, Monson

and the following voted against the same: None

whereupon said resolution, having received the favorable vote of at least two-thirds of the Members of the Board, was declared duly passed and adopted.

Jon Karger moved to approve the second reading of the District Wellness Policy. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve the second reading of the Health and Safety Policy. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the Health and Safety Budget for 2012-13 as presented. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the Principal negotiations for 2011-13. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the Local Literacy Plan for Pelican Rapids School District #548. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Sheila Flatau and Brian Korf presented their principals' reports.

Dena Johnson moved to change the regular July meeting to Thursday July 19 <sup>th</sup> at 6:30 p.m. with a work session at 5:30 p.m. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.	
The meeting was adjourned at 8:23 p.m.	
Don Perrin, Chairman	Jon Karger, Clerk