REGULAR BOARD MEETING July 19, 2010 Unapproved

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a work session on July 19, 2010 in the high school library at 5:00 P.M. with a regular meeting at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Don Perrin, Jon Karger, Dena Johnson, Kathy Ouren, Charlie Blixt. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Stephanie Graham, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Brian Korf, Rick Brynildson, Heidi Schaeffer, Lloyd Nelson, Tonya Johnson, Linda Grefsrud, Kathy Knuteson-Olson, Elizabeth Sias, and Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Don Perrin.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Rick Brynildson and Lloyd Nelson addressed the board regarding the 4-day school week.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes – regular board meeting-June 21, 2010

Approve payment of the June 30th and July bills

Accept donation from Loretel Systems, inc. (Hector Communications) in the amount of \$6,420

Personnel:

Approve assistant Principal – ½ time-Glenn Moerke Approve Jr. High Football Coach – Kyle Haugrud Approve Fall Play Director – Kristen Fox Call for milk bids for the 2010-11 school year

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Don Perrin moved to approve reorganization designations for 2010-11 as follows:

Reorganization Designations

We recommend the Pelican Rapids Press, Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, as the official newspaper for publications of all school district notices.

We recommend Wells Fargo Bank, Minnesota National Bank, State Bank & Trust, Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, St. Peter, Minnesota, LaSalle Bank and P.M.A. Financial Network as depositories of all school money for a period of one year beginning the first day of July 2009 and that said deposits are to be secured by bond or collateral security as required by law.

We recommend that Deborah Wanek and Stephanie Graham be authorized to make transfers from savings accounts to activity accounts, and to invest school district monies.

We recommend the bulletin board located by the principal's office in the high school as the location for posting all official school board notices.

We recommend the monthly meeting time and date to be the 3rd Monday of the month at 6:30 P.M.

We recommend that Deborah Wanek and the board chair be authorized to consult with law firms as necessary.

We recommend that the rate for Drivers Education be set at \$250. We recommend the following admission prices for athletic events for 2010-11:

Student Activity Ticket	\$30.00
Student General Admission	3.00
Adult General Admission	5.00
Senior Citizen Pass	no charge
Adult Fall Season Ticket	20.00
Adult Winter Season Ticket	45.00

The current mileage rate for personnel using their personal vehicle for school business when a school-owned vehicle is not available is .50 per mile and .20 per mile when a school-owned vehicle is available and declined by the employee and the meal reimbursement rate, including a reasonable gratuity, is that of State of Minnesota employees.

We recommend the salary for board members and the recording secretary is \$75 per meeting. We recommend the salary for the chairman is \$0/year, and the clerk's salary is \$80.

We recommend substitute teacher daily rate be set at \$90. If the 4 day week is implemented, we recommend the substitute teacher daily rate be set at \$105. We recommend the non-certified substitute hourly rate be set at \$9 which is the current rate.

Current meal prices:

LUNCH BREAKFA			AST		
High Schoo	l Daily	\$1.05	High Scl	hool	\$.75
Elementary	Daily	\$1.00	Elemen	tary	.00
Reduced		.40	Reduce	d	.30
Adult	As designated by MDE		Adult	As designated by MDE	
The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.					

Member Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution an moved its adoption: RESOLUTION RELATING TO THE ELECTION OF SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS AND CALLING THE SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

Full resolution available on request at the school district office.

The motion for the adoption for the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Board Member Jon Karger and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof:

Don Perrin, Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson

And the following voted against the same: None

Whereupon, said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Member Charlie Blixt then introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING AND AWARDING SALE OF

GENERAL OBLIGATION AID ANTICIPATION

CERTIFICATES OF INDEBTEDNESS, SERIES 2010B AND FIXING FORM

AND TERMS THEREOF IN CONNECTION WITH THE

MINNESOTA TAX AND AID ANTICIPATION BORROWING PROGRAM

SPONSORED BY THE MINNESOTA SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION AND

GREATER MINNESOTA SERVICE COOPERATIVES

Full resolution available on request at the school district office.

The motion for the adopted of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Member Dena Johnson and upon vote being taken thereon the following voted in favor thereof:

Perrin, Ouren, Johnson, Karger, Blixt

and the following voted against the same: None

whereupon said resolution, having received the favorable vote of at least two-thirds of the Members of the Board, was declared duly passed and adopted.

Jon Karger moved to approve the updated Wellness Policy as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to appoint Jon Karger as a member of the Special Education Co-op board to fill the remainder of Dianne Kimm's term. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena moved to appoint Kathy Ouren as a member of the Region I Joint Powers Board to fill the remainder of Dianne Kimm's term. The motion was seconded by Don Perrin and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the Memorandum of Agreement with Lakes Country Service Coop from Sara lee Baking Group for bakery products for the 2010-11 school year. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Charlie moved to renew our membership in the MSBA for 2010-11 at t cost of \$3,926. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the Pelican Rapids School District moving to a 4-day school week effective for the 2010-11 school year pending approval of the Flexible Learning Year application by the Minnesota Department of Education. The motion was seconded by Dena Jonson and carried with Jon Karger voting against.

The meeting was adjourned.		
Don Perrin, Chairman	Jon Karger, Clerk	