Chapter 11 Lesson 3 & 4

B. THE INNER SOLAR SYSTEM

The inner solar system contains the planets of (in order from the sun)
 Mercury, Venus, Earth, & Mars



- 2. The inner planets are sometimes called the terrestrial planets.
- 3. The inner planets have several features in common:
 - -Closest to the sun
 - -rocky surfaces
 - -warmest planets
 - -slow movers
 - -smaller planets
 - -no rings
 - -few moons
- 4. The hottest planet and the one that revolves around the Sun the fastest is **Mercury**.
- 5. Often called our sister planet, **Venus** is the same size as Earth, but very different and rotates in the opposite direction of Earth.
- 6. The only planet that has any evidence of liquid water and has an atmosphere able to support life is **Earth**.
- 7. Mars is often called the "Red Planet" because of the iron oxide that covers this planet's surface.
- 8. The moon is Earth's natural **satellite**. A satellite is an object that orbits another object in space.
- 9. Our moon has many **craters** created by meteorites that made impact on the moon's surface.

C. THE OUTER SOLAR SYSTEM

- The outer solar system contains the planets of Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, & Neptune
- 2. The outer planets are sometimes called the gas giants.
- 3. The outer planets have several features in common:
 - -Farthest from the sun
 - -made of gas
 - -coldest planets
 - -fast movers
 - -larger planets
 - -many rings
 - -many moons
- 4. Separating the inner planets from the outer planets (in between Mars and Jupiter) is the **Asteroid** Belt.
 - The order of the eight planets: 1) Mercury 2) Venus 3) Earth 4) Mars 5) Jupiter
 Saturn 7) Uranus, 8) Neptune



