Riceville Community School Riceville, IA

The Board of Education of the Riceville Community School District held their regular board meeting January 18, 2021, at 7:30 p.m. in the High School Library. Board members present Eastman, Guertin, Winters, Hale and Fox. Also, in attendance: Heather Suckow & Marcia Grimm Principal, Jennifer Dunn—Board Secretary/Treasurer, Angie Rowan- Curriculum Casandra Leff—Monitor Recorder. Staff: Shary Ebert, Tammi Mueller, Rachel Pickar, Bryce Conway, and Amanda Conway. Parents: Joanne Ries, Holly Marr and Janet Pridgen. Community Members: Rose Christensen and Susan Marr.

Fox called the meeting to order @ 7:34 PM.

Motion by Hale, seconded by Guertin to approve the agenda. 5 Ayes. MC.

Spotlight on Education—A reflection of the school year model was given by staff, parents, and teacher association.

Motion by Eastman, second by Winters to approve the minutes of previous meeting, financial reports, and summary of bills. Ayes 5. MC.

Motion by Hale, seconded by Guertin to approve the resignation of Carla Cray-Co-V & JV Softball Coach. Roll Call Vote: Winters, aye; Eastman, nay; Guertin, aye; Hale, aye; Fox, aye. MC.

Mrs. Suckow spoke on professional development with math working with other teachers from another district.

Mrs. Schwamman spoke about legislative updates, meeting with calendar meeting, IHSSA-classifying, girls basketball (great season)

Mrs. Rowan spoke about FAST testing, new reading curriculum, SIAC.

Building and grounds reported they are working on a plan for more repairs and upkeep.

A report was given by Mrs. Dunn on a board question on the amount of LP the district is using since the RAC has been built.

Discussion was held on the school calendar with the current model the district has in place.

A discussion was held on the purchase of a bus, permission was given by the board. Bids will be gotten and brought back to the next meeting for approval.

Motion was made by Guertin, seconded by Eastman to appoint Ben Winters to the Mitchell County Conference Board. 5 Ayes. MC.

Motion was made by Winters, seconded by Hale to appoint Lyle Eastman to the Howard County Conference Board. 5 Ayes. MC.

Next board meeting will be held Monday February 15th, 2021 @ 7:30 p.m. in the High School Library.

Motion by Eastman, second by Guertin to adjourn the meeting @ 9:10 PM. Ayes 5. MC.

Karl Fox	Jennifer Dunn
Board President	Board Secretary