

# **Agenda Request Form**

Meeting Date

October 20, 2022

Agenda Item Number

A-4

#### Title

Recognition of Cherokee County School District Teachers and Staff Named 2022-23 Class of Microsoft Innovative Educator Experts (MIEE)

# Requested Action

School Board Recognition of Cherokee County School District Teachers and Staff Named 2022-23 Class of Microsoft Innovative Educator Experts (MIEE)

### **Summary Explanation and Background**

Microsoft Education has recognized 36 Cherokee County School District teachers and staff as among the nation's top instructional technology experts!

They have been named to the 2022-23 class of Microsoft Innovative Educator Experts (MIEE). The technology company selected only 830 educators, support staff and school and school district leaders nationwide, considered among the best at understanding how technology can improve learning, for this elite recognition. CCSD leads the way with the most Experts of any Georgia school district. Experts receive access to new instructional resources and an exclusive online network for sharing best practices.

In addition to being named an Expert, CCSD Instructional Technology Specialist Merry Hofmeister for the fourth consecutive year also is one of only 33 educators in the U.S. and four in Georgia to be named a Microsoft Innovative Educator Fellow. This recognition honors demonstrated leadership and excellence by Experts through coaching, mentoring, leading professional development and presenting at conferences. Fellows, considered by their peers as the best among all Experts at technology integration, are called upon to share their knowledge with other educators.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower congratulated CCSD Chief Information Officer Bobby Blount, who was named to the Expert list, and his team for their dedication to providing all CCSD employees with outstanding technology access, training and support.

#### **Priority Area**

Quality Workforce

# Financial Impact

N/A

#### **Exhibits: (List)**

List of Recipients

#### Source of Additional Information

 Dr. Brian V. Hightower
 770.479.1871

 Barbara Jacoby
 770.479.1871

Office of Superintendent October 1, 2019

## CCSD's 2022-23 MIE Experts:

Danelle Anderson, Mountain Road ES

Karina Bailey, Hickory Flat ES

Kim Bennett, Office of Technology & Information Services

Bobby Blount, Office of Technology & Information Services

Kristen Brooks, Indian Knoll ES

Dr. Shannon Carroll, Office of Technology & Information Services

Kim Cerasoli, Indian Knoll ES

Jana Cervone, Bascomb ES

Lee Coker, Etowah HS

Heather Dalton, Avery ES

Lisa Darrow, Woodstock MS

Frank Graham, Office of Technology & Information Services

Lauren Hagood, Office of Technology & Information Services

Dixie Harper, Office of Technology & Information Services

Samantha Harrington, Carmel ES

Jordan Hofmeister, Tippens EC

Merry Hofmeister, Office of Technology & Information Services

Morgan Hudson, Creekview HS

Ashley Kelsey, Mill Creek MS

Chelsea Leming, Indian Knoll ES

Jennifer Lewis, Indian Knoll ES

Janet Marotte, Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy

Jennifer Mendenhall, Bascomb ES

Rebecca Moore, Indian Knoll ES

Andrea Pagano, Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy

Lee Patti, Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy

Jeff Pence, Office of Technology & Information Services

Lauren Pittman, Woodstock ES

April Popham, Tippens EC

Afton Roberts, Indian Knoll ES

Heidi Sansone, Carmel ES

Lori Stuart, Office of Technology & Information Services

Tenille Turner, Macedonia ES

Jamie Vogan, Cherokee HS

Samantha Westerlind, Little River ES

Marissa Williams, Hickory Flat ES