CHARLESTON BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 24, 2017

The Charleston Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, April 24, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. in the Fine Arts Building. Members present were: Mr. Trey Gage, Mr. Jeff Hayes, Mrs. Michele Schmitz, and Mr. Brian Verkamp. Mr. Joel McDonald was not present. Also present were Mr. Jeff Stubblefield, Superintendent; Mr. Shane Storey, High School Principal; Mrs. Melissa Moore, Middle School Principal; Mr. Bruce Womack, Elementary School Principal; Mrs. Susan Brown, Federal Coordinator and Curriculum Specialist, and Mrs. Rita Gramlich, District Treasurer.

Mr. Trey Gage established a quorum and called the meeting to order at 6.00 p.m..

A motion was made by Mr. Jeff Hayes and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the consent agenda as listed. Motion carried 4-0.

Consent Agenda

- A. Approve the March 27, 2017 regular minutes
- B. Approve the Period 9 2016-17 Financial Statements
- C. Approve the Resolution regarding School Choice and applications as listed:
 - i. Landon Shaw from Booneville to Charleston
 - ii. Ryker Weaver from Booneville to Charleston
 - iii. Gavin Beauchamp from County Line to Charleston
 - iv. Madison Goddard from County Line to Charleston
 - v. Diego Herrera from County Line to Charleston
 - vi. Kenneth Hurley from County Line to Charleston
 - vii. Aiyana Shaw from County Line to Charleston
 - viii. Sierra Lamb from Charleston to Lavaca
 - ix. Adeline Newhart from Charleston to Lavaca
 - x. Landon Williams from Charleston to Lavaca
 - xi. Tye Williams from Charleston to Lavaca
 - xii. Cooper Carruth from Lavaca to Charleston
 - xiii. Aiden Smothers from Lavaca to Charleston
 - xiv. Annaliese Allison from Fort Smith to Charleston

Mr. Jeff Hayes excused himself from the meeting.

After careful discussion, a motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the Susan and Jeff Hayes Disclosures and related Resolution as presented. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the lease agreement with Hayes Rentals with final approval required by the Arkansas Department of Education. Motion carried 3-0.

Mr. Jeff Hayes rejoined the meeting at this time.

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the final 2015-16 Audit Report as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

A motion was made by Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mr. Jeff Hayes to approve the Franklin County Hazard Mitigation Plan Resolution as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Jeff Hayes and seconded by Mr. Brian Verkamp to approve the change order as listed. Motion carried 4-0.

A. Change Order #9—Deduct \$2,003 from Glidewell Construction for return of the ceiling tile allowance.

A motion was made by Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mr. Brian Verkamp to approve policies 4.15, 4.45, 4.45, 1, 5.3, 5.12, and 5.29 as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve salary increases as listed (\$250 was paid to certified personnel and \$130 was paid to classified personnel as equal distributions in December 2016). Motion carried 4-0.

- A. Add \$500 to the base of the 2016-17 certified salary schedule
- B. Add 2% to 2016-17 classified salaries including bus drivers

A motion was made by Mr. Jeff Hayes and seconded by Mr. Brian Verkamp to employ personnel as listed for the 2017-18 school year. Motion carried 4-0. A list of employed personnel is attached to the original board minutes.

Mr. Stubblefield provided information regarding the below listed activities:

- A. Baccalaureate, May 7th @ 4:30 pm
- B. Regional Baseball and Softball Tournament, May 4th-5th
- C. Spring Sports Banquet, May 15th @ 7 pm
- D. Graduation, May 14th @ 2:00 pm
- E. Kindergarten Graduation, May 16th @ 7:00 pm
- F. Semester Tests, May 19th, 22nd, 23rd
- G. White Turf Warranty Replacement, May 1st
- H. Summer Lunch Program, May 30th—July 27th

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to accept resignations as listed. Motion carried 4-0.

- A. Tara Bolyard, Elementary Teacher
- B. Natalie Cadena, Special Education Teacher
- C. Jessica Holt, Gifted and Talented Sponsor Stipend
- D. Justin Newhart, Construction Technology, Half-Time Bus Driver
- E. Brenda Hewett, Aide
- F. Melissa Sutter, Aide
- G. Ashley Curbow, Senior High Cheer Sponsor

	Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mr. Jeff Hayes to employ certified , Lynne Akers, and Mike Carmack for the 2017-18 school year. Motion
A motion was made by N 7:10 p.m Motion carrie	Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mr. Brian Verkamp to adjourn at ed 4-0.
President	Secretary