

BEAVER CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT #26 4810 E. BEAVER CREEK RD. RIMROCK, AZ 86335 (928) 567-4631 FAX (928) 567-5347 Karin Ward, Superintendent

MINUTES REGULAR GOVERNING BOARD MEETING AND PUBLIC HEARING OF THE FINAL FY22 BUDGET MONDAY, MAY 9, 2022

Board members in attendance:

Perry Krowne Lincoln Thomasson Raymond Michalowski

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 6:04 PM by Lincoln Thomasson. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and was followed by a Moment of Silence.
- 2. Raymond Michalowski made the motion to adopt the Agenda. The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne and the Agenda was adopted with a unanimous vote.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

- 3. Summary of Current Events:
 - a. Superintendent Ward shared the Good Things Happening at Beaver Creek School. The first flag assembly of the year, field trips and our wonderful paraprofessionals focusing on their treasures!
 - b. Superintendent Ward gave her Legislative update. At this time, there are no budget forms for FY23, we continue to monitor the process.
 - c. The next regular Governing Board Meeting will be on June 13, 2022 at 6:00PM following the approved school calendar. The Governing Board discussed a possible change in meeting date and decided at this time it is not feasible to make an official change considering statutorily due dates. However, July's Board meeting will be scheduled for Thursday July 14, 2022 at 6:00 PM.
- 4. Reports:
 - a. Mrs. Jordan Harris presented on the 6th grade overnight field trip to Camp Colton. She shared wonderful photos from ClassDojo to show all the wonderful experiences our kids got to have. Mr. Thomasson requested a special thank you to Camp Colton and Mrs. Harris assured him that her kids were working on something to show their gratitude.
- 5. Public Comments:

- d. None to Report.
- 6. Action Items:
 - e. Raymond Michalowski made the motion to approve the Consent Agenda. The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne. The vote to approve the Consent Agenda was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

f. Perry Krowne motioned to discuss the approval of special education itinerate staff for FY23. The motion was seconded by Raymond Michalowski and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

Ms. Womack requested quotes for services from several vendors. After consideration of rate, working relationship and the ability to be on campus (not telehealth) providers were chosen has presented.

Raymond Michalowski motioned to approve the itinerate staff for FY23. The motion was seconded by Lincoln Thomasson and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

g. Lincoln Thomasson motioned to discuss the approval of the following:

(1) Waiver and Release from Liability Agreement to receive a Bike Repair Station at Beaver Creek School from the Yavapai County Health Department.

(2) Employee Staffing Agreement with ESI- this allows staff to retire and work with ESI.

(3) IGA with Yavapai County and Beaver Creek for Substitute Services. This annual IGA has been passed on to the district attorney for review and signature.

The motion was seconded by Raymond Michalowski and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

Superintendent Ward discussed each agreement with the board.

Lincoln Thomasson motioned to approve the listed agreements. The motion was seconded by Raymond Michalowski and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

The meeting was opened to a Public Hearing by Lincoln Thomasson for the Final FY22 Budget Revision.

h. Raymond Michalowski motioned to discuss approval of the FY22 Final Budget Revision. The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

Due to the final carry forward from FY21 and adjustment to the current ADM and Group B Weight we have an increase of our budget in the amount of \$302,428. The final budget capacity is \$4,302,774 (m/o) and \$320,604 (unrestricted capital).

Raymond Michalowski motioned to approve the Final Budget Revision of FY22. The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

i. Raymond Michalowski motioned to discuss the listed personnel items:

a. Request to Accept Resignations :

- i. Jordan Harris Teacher effective May 20, 2022
- ii. Cynthia Ramirez- Teacher effective May 20, 2022
- iii. Mason Sneathen- Health Aide effective May 20, 2022
- iv. Andrea Cabadas- Paraprofessional April 28, 2022

b. Request to Hire:

- i. Heather Harris- Health Aide Substitute
- ii. Dawn Birdsong- Highly Qualified Paraprofessional for FY 23
- iii. Returning Staff for 2022-2023
 - 1. Counselor Catherine Rosick

Classified Staff the 2022-2023 School Year as presented in the Governing Board Packet. It is recommended that classified staff receive .35 an hour additional compensation.

The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

Raymond Michalowski motioned to approve the listed personnel items. The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne and the vote was unanimous.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

7. Information Items:

Superintendent Ward spoke on the following information items:

- Goal review
 - Staff Survey Results
 - Camera Updates
 - Adjacent Ways
- Signatures this month
 - Kairos Acceptance Proposal Form
- 8. Request for future Agenda items:
 - a. None to Report
- 9. Raymond Michalowski made the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Perry Krowne. The meeting was adjourned at 6:58 PM with a unanimous vote.

Jackie Harshman	Brandi Bateman	Raymond Michalowski	Lincoln Thomasson	Perry Krowne
		Aye	Aye	Aye

Respectfully submitted,

Ori Womack

Lincoln Thomasson

Raymond Michalowski

Perry Krowne