

Contra Costa County Board Education Facts at a Glance







The Contra Costa Board of Education

How is the Board organized?

The Contra Costa County Board of Education is the elected Board of Education for the County of Contra Costa. The Board of Education consists of five members elected by trustee districts to staggered four-year terms. Each Board member represents the County Office of Education as a whole, but must be a registered voter in their trustee area. In accordance with the California Education Code and certain other rules and laws, the Contra Costa County Board of Education serves as the governing board for the juvenile court schools operated by the County Office of Education.

What does the Board do?

The Board provides leadership and citizen oversight for educational programs and services operated by the County Office of Education. The Board also:

- Approves selected curriculum for CCCOE programs
- Approves the County Office of Education budgets
- Hears appeals on charter schools, interdistrict transfer disputes, and expulsion cases
- Acts as the County Committee on School District Organization, which reviews changes in school district boundaries.

County Board of Education Members (photos at left, top to bottom)

Area 1: Consuelo Lara

Area 2: Sarah Butler

Area 3: Anamarie Avila Farias

Area 4: Mike Maxwell

Area 5: Annette Lewis

